Well, It Finally Happened…

I’ve managed to avoid it for almost a year but I think my luck has run out. It finally caught up to me.

And what I mean by that is: I’m sick. Well, I’m 70% sure I’m sick. I’m not sure what it is, to be honest. It could be allergies, too, for all I know.

Lately, when I’ve gone to work, my nose would get tingly and I would sneeze once, maybe twice, and when I come home, I would be fine. But for some reason, when I woke up this morning, my throat was swollen, my face was puffy, and my nose was stuffy.

All day at work yesterday, I would blow my nose and feel like my sinuses were out of whack. Thank goodness it was Friday so I didn’t have to come into work the next day feeling the same or worse, WORSE!

Anyway, as my Friday wore on and day turned into night, I decided to try making water infused with lemon and honey. I’ve made something like this before but this time, I had raw honey on hand. After hearing all the amazing things about raw honey, I knew that this was the perfect time to make this drink.

Now, why honey and lemon, you ask? Amazing question!

Lemons are great because they’re full of vitamin C which can boost your immune system. They are also amazing for cleansing your body of toxins by enhancing enzyme functions and stimulating your liver.

Now, with honey, you have to be careful. Many of us are used to the golden stuff that we can find at supermarkets everywhere. Don’t get me wrong, those taste amazing and I’ve grown up with that my whole life. BUT, and I didn’t know this till really recently, the honey we buy is practically stripped of any nutritional value! Crazy, right?! It’s been pasteurized to kill any bacteria, pollen, and debris so we can say that it’s OK to eat.

Raw honey, on the other hand, hasn’t been pasteurized. And because it hasn’t been processed, it still contains many key nutrients like energizing B vitamins and immune system-boosting vitamin C. It also contains a ton of antibacterial and antioxidants. Don’t be weirded out when you open your first jaw of raw honey. It’s not going to be liquidy; it’s this hardened chunk of golden stuff in a jar. But it tastes the same, if not better! I promise.

So you can see why using these two ingredients would be good to fight off a cold or even allergies.

This is how it turned out and it was delicious! The steam opened up my sinuses and I generally did feel better.

Lemon Honey Tea

Here’s what you need:

  • About 2 cups of water
  • 1/4 squeezed lemon
  • 1 tsp raw honey

Here’s what to do:

  1. Boil your water and pour into your mug
  2. Squeeze your lemon into your mug and swirl in the honey
  3. Stir till the honey dissolves
  4. Sip away!

Pro Tip:
Use chamomile tea instead of water. Chamomile has a soothing effect and, if you drink this before going to bed, it’ll help you fall asleep. It can also help boost your immune system!

Try this whenever you feel a little funky. If the actual ingredients themselves don’t make you feel better, at the very least you’re drinking something nutritious and delicious!

On that note, don’t get sick! 🙂

One thought on “Well, It Finally Happened…

Leave a Reply

