My First Attempt at (Chocolate!) Overnight Oats

I’m not sure if I’ve just been living under a rock my whole life but the overnight oats craze that I’m seeing on Instagram and Pinterest seems to have happened overnight. Ha! I can honestly say I’ve never heard of overnight oats before but it drew me in instantly and I had to try it out for myself. Obviously.

“But wait, Sophia, what are overnight oats?!”

Don’t worry! I wondered the same exact thing. They’re exactly what you think they are. Oats left overnight and ready to eat once you wake up.

Pretty genius, right?! I’m all for anything that saves me time.

And the outcome? Well, I’m pretty pleased with it! Though the texture is something I have to get used to, I’ll definitely be making more of these when I’m in a pinch!

Since I don’t eat boxed cereal anymore and I don’t want to rely on toast for last minute breakfasts, I’m glad I have overnight oats to resort to in the morning for a healthy, filling, and tasty meal.

It just takes literally 5 minutes of prep work before you go to sleep. Then, when you wake up, once you add a few of your own preferred toppings, they’re ready to be devoured!

To make these oats, I took a basic overnight oats recipe I found online and added my own twist to it, naturally. Check it out!

Chocolate Overnight Oats Recipe

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tupperware container
  • 1/2 c organic rolled oats – NOT the instant kind
  • 1/2 c almond milk – any milk is fine, though
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 Tbsp cacao powder – I’m a sucker for chocolate so this one was a given
  • Cinnamon Powder
  • Nuts and either fresh/dried fruit
  • Raw honey
  • A drizzle of nut butter

Here’s what you do:

  1. Add your oats, milk, chia seeds, cacao powder, and cinnamon powder to your tupperware.
  2. Mix all ingredients till well combined.
  3. Store in your fridge overnight.
  4. When you’re ready to eat them, add any nuts, fruits, and toppings to get it to taste how you want it to.
    1. I used raw honey, a banana, and dried cranberries to sweeten it some more and peanut butter to give it a creamier texture.
  5. Enjoy!

Pro Tip: If you’re using the solid raw honey, I would advise melting it a little bit so it gets distributed more evenly. I don’t own a microwave and it’s been pretty chilly in the morning so that’s why there’s this big glob of honey in the middle of my oats.

[Prepping my ingredients]

[The oats when it’s all mixed. Mmm…chocolate!]

[The finished result!]

Have you ever tried overnight oats? What are some of your favorite toppings?

Leave a Reply

