Look Of The Day – Peplum Tops and Barely There Eyeshadow

Today was one of those rare days where I woke up just early enough to make myself look decent. I don’t know how I did it in college but you’d think that I’d keep that momentum going in the working world. NOPE.

I have the luxury of working five minutes from where I live. Seriously. But because I live nearby, I allow myself to sleep longer because, hey, I live so close that I can afford to sleep 5 minutes longer.

Unfortunately, my appearance ends up taking a hit because of this. I usually just throw my hair up into a high ponytail or a bun, wear foundation and powder, and if I’m lucky, some blush or mascara.

But not today! I wasn’t planning on going to the gym so I thought I would do something a little more with my make up and my outfit.

My outfit:

  • Peplum Top – Target
  • Legging Pants – Uniqlo (Thank you, mom, for getting me these! They look like work pants but feel like leggings. Love!)
  • Knee High Boots – Target

I decided to wear this peplum top that was hiding in my closet. I got it back in 2013 and only wore it a couple times. The arm holes were a bit uncomfortable so I stopped wearing it. But, after a year and a half, I decided to get over it and I’m so glad I did. I’ve missed this top. It’s super flattering and I love the colors/pattern. It’s not overwhelming but so full of color!

I paired my top with my legging pants from Uniqlo and my boots from Target. Those two have been such a staple in my work outfit. The pants look professional but feel like leggings. It’s the best of both worlds! And I’ve been eyeing knee high boots for a long time so when I finally found the LAST pair at Target, I bought them and wear them almost every single day.

For my make up, I decided to go for a look that I reserve for when I’m going out for the day. Not quite nighttime make up but not super casual either.

Here’s what I used:

  • Rimmel Stay Matte – Creamy Beige
  • MAC Paint Pot – Indianwood
  • Maybelline Pumped Up Colossal Volum’ Express – black
  • Random eyeshadow palette but look for a shimmery dark brown and a shimmery light pink/purple color

Here’s what I did:

  1. Apply the Rimmel powder on your eyelids and below your lower lashline to keep the shadow from creasing throughout the day.
  2. Apply a really light coat of the MAC Paint Pot all over your lids and a little extra on your lower lashline, focusing on the outer half.
  3. Pack the shadow applicator with the dark brown color and place it just over your upper lashline.
  4. Take a fluffy brush and blend the brown shadow out. There should be more shadow by your upper lashline than anywhere else on your lid.
  5. With a smaller brush, put the pink/purple color on the outer half of your lower lash line. You can blend this a little bit if the line is too harsh. Don’t over do it; raccoon eyes aren’t cool!
  6. Apply a few coats of the Maybelline mascara to your upper and lower lashes. I do about 2-3 coats.

And there you have it!

I was feeling this look so I had to create some kind of evidence that this happened. Here’s hoping that I’ll wake up early again tomorrow!

What is your make up routine when you’re in a pinch? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

