Cranberry Cinnamon Chia Cereal

I love my green smoothies but sometimes, I’m just wayyy too lazy to make them. Or, I run out of ingredients. Or, it’s the middle of the day and I’m not feeling anything else I have in my fridge. That’s when I usually whip out some chia seeds and milk to make a chia cereal! It takes literally only minutes but it has so many good things for you.

I used to be a big cereal person back in the day. Honey Bunches of Oats (either Honey Clusters or Almonds. Nothing else mattered) or Corn Flakes (with bananas) were my absolute faves. Of course, Honeycomb, Lucky Charms, Cookie Crisps, to name a few, were some of my faves growing up. But, you know, gotta be an adult and eat grown-up cereal, right? 😉

Anyway, once I started to learn about all the STUFF that was in my food, I began to wean myself off cereal. It was strange at first but a new love replaced them: smoothies. But you can hear me ramble about that in my Mixed Berry Green Smoothie or Green Pineapple Smoothie posts.

Every now and then, I’ll run out of smoothie ingredients and just be left with chia seeds, nuts, and milk. So, naturally, I throw them all together. This concoction was inspired by these bowls that one of my previous employers had in her cookbook. Once I got the basics down, I started throwing in my own stuff to make it taste how I want it to.

And now I want to share it with you!

Here’s how to make some…

Cranberry Cinnamon Chia Cereal

Here’s what you need:

  • 1-2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • A small handful of sliced almonds
  • A small handful of dried cranberries
  • 1 c. almond milk
  • A dash of cinnamon

Here’s what you do:

  1. Add chia seeds and milk into a bowl and let it sit for a few minutes until the chia seeds become a jelly-like consistency.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix.

Pro Tip: You can also add some honey, slices of strawberries, granola, or even bananas to make this taste EVEN better. Honestly, you can add anything you want and it’ll probably taste amazing.

As you can see, there’s really no rhyme or reason with this recipe. It’s so unstructured, it’s stupid simple, and it tastes good! I love that you can add almost anything to this and it’ll be delicious.

Not only that, you’ll get some great nutrients out of this bowl!

Chia seeds are jam-packed with antioxidants, healthy fatty acids, and fiber. Cinnamon has antioxidants and anti-inflammatory properties. And almonds keep your heart happy and may even help you lose weight.

Basically, what I’m saying is that you can’t lose with this bowl of chia cereal. 🙂 It’s perfect when you’re craving a cereal-like crunch or when you’re in a pinch.

What’s your favorite healthy spin on cereal? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Cinnamon Chia Cereal

Leave a Reply

