DIY Watercolor Cut Out

I can’t express how thankful I am that it’s Saturday. The past two days have been a whirlwind! Very fun but also very tiring. And now, I can relax and recover.

It was one of my best friend’s birthdays on Thursday so a bunch of friends went to Dave & Busters in Hollywood to kick things off. I had never been there before but it was SO fun! It was literally a Chuck-E-Cheese for adults. I think my favorite game was Fruit Ninja because it gave me the most tickets haha.

And then Friday night, we all went to a club and an after-hours party in Hollywood. It was a lot of fun and I’m glad I got to be there with my closest friends. There’s literally never a dull moment with them. It takes a lot out of me but in the end, it’s all worth it.

Anyway, because it was my friend’s birthday, I thought it was the perfect opportunity for me to put my sorority crafting skills to use. In addition to the beer and cocktail tools I got him, I made him a card.

He’s a huge Disney fan so it felt right to make him something like this.

I’m not entirely sure where the inspiration came from but I’m glad it was there. I really love the end result. I’ve always loved watercolors and how when you do wet on wet, the colors bleed together so seamlessly. It was something I had to attempt and I’m glad it went so well!

So now, I want to share with YOU how I achieved this effect and this cut out. It would be really cute for a handmade card or even wall decor.

Keep on reading for more!

DIY Watercolor Cut Out

Here’s what you need:

  1. A pad of watercolor paper
  2. Watercolors
  3. #10 round brush
  4. A cup of water
  5. Paper towels

Here’s what you do:

1. Find a shape that you like and trace it onto your watercolor paper.

2. Dip your brush into some water and coat the area with your outline with it. Don’t get it so wet that the paper gets soggy. Just coat it enough so there are no dry spots.3. Add more water to your brush, choose a color you want to paint with, and load your brush up with that color.4. Add that color to your palette. Add more paint and water as needed. Remember, you want a nice, vibrant color – not a watery, light color. Test the color on a scrap piece of paper to see if you got it right.5. Take your loaded brush and place it towards the top of your outline and watch the colors drip down. Tilt the page to let the colors run more organically. Because you wet the area, the colors are able to bleed nicely. 🙂6. This is optional but take another color and do the same technique, allowing the colors to blend together. Keep turning your page around so the colors can flow in every direction.7. Once you’ve gotten the look you wanted, let your design dry a bit. To speed up the drying process, use a blow dryer on a low-heat setting and make sure to keep moving it around so the colors dry evenly. Keep drying the page till you don’t see a sheen from the water.8. Cleanse your brush and load it up with black or any other dark color. Make sure you have more color than water in order to get a really opaque color.

[We want to achieve the swatch all the way on the right which has more paint than water. As you add more water to your paint, the color will get more transparent and watery.]
9. In your best cursive (or print), carefully paint a letter, phrase, or whatever you want and let it dry.10. Cut out your traced image and you’re done! I had to go over it again since my pencil marks disappeared when I started painting.

The whole process takes about 10 minutes and it’s SO easy.

You can do this no matter what your artistic level is! I haven’t taken a watercolor class in probably a decade (oh god, I feel like I’m dating myself…) and felt really insecure about my ability to do this right but I think it came out great!

And besides, I think it’s the little imperfections that we make that make something more personal and more valuable, don’t you think?

Anyway, try this out for yourselves and enjoy. 🙂

What’s your favorite DIY craft to do? I wanna try them!

Leave a Reply

