Roasted Squash Sandwich Recipe

Let me tell you, there’s no worse feeling than being sick. Even after a day of feeling off, it’s hard to remember what it feels like to be “normal.” I had to reschedule a date because I didn’t know how I would feel. 😦

But thankfully, things are starting to go back to normal. My cough is almost gone and I’m almost back at 100%. YAY!!! Time to celebrate…with a SANDWICH.

Now that it’s Sunday (well, it’s like Sunday night now when I’m writing this), it’s my time to relax, recover, and of course, pig out. A lot of the time, I’m too lazy to make a full blown meal so I like to make sandwiches. Nothing crazy but something very filling and healthy.

Anyway, I have a go-to sandwich that I make whenever I don’t know what else to make. This one is particularly special because I added some roasted squash on top. Believe me, it made a world of difference!

This baby is light, easy to make, and full of flavor. Some people need meat or cheese in their sandwiches but with this one, you won’t even know it’s there. Then again, I MAY be biased because I haven’t eaten meat in almost two years…and I ~created~ this sandwich.

But still, it’s delicious, it looks pretty, and I’m positive you’ll love it just as much as I do!

Here’s how to make it!

Roasted Squash Sandwich Recipe

Here’s what you need:

  1. A slice of Ezekiel bread
  2. Plain hummus
  3. 1/2 – 1 ripe avocado, sliced
  4. Baby spinach
  5. 1 Tbsp roasted squash
  6. Grape tomatoes, sliced

Here’s what you do:

  1. Toast your bread – I like to lightly toast mine
  2. Spread the hummus and avocado on your slice- the more avocado, the better, I always say!
  3. Place a few leaves of spinach over the hummus and avocado and press on them lightly to make sure they won’t fly off your toast – nothing worse than a sandwich that falls apart 😦
  4. Place your tablespoon of roasted squash over the spinach.
  5. Add your sliced grape tomatoes over the squash.
  6. Eat!

Pro Tip: Fair warning: you’re gonna need a napkin when you eat this. At least with the recipe I used, the oil from the roasted squash can drip down your hand. A little messy but definitely worth it.

I gotta say, this sandwich is one of my best creations. I happened to have some leftover roasted squash (I’ll do a post on this soon…just gotta make it again and take photos) and decided to see what would happen when I put it in a sandwich. Best. Idea. Ever.

It’s a perfectly light meal full of nutrition and flavor. I could eat this forever if I could.

What’s YOUR favorite sandwich? Tell me in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Roasted Squash Sandwich Recipe

Leave a Reply

