Roasted Broccoli + Chickpeas on Brown Rice Recipe

Well, it certainly has been a while, hasn’t it?

Life has been interesting, to say the least. I’ve been trying to make some changes to my life (like Kayla Itsines’ Bikini Body Guide, figuring out what I want to do, etc.) and I’ve been spending time with my loved ones (Vegas trip with my friends, day-trip to Solvang with my parents, casual hangouts with friends and family, etc.).

But recently, I’ve felt an urge to write and now I’m back! I haven’t posted a recipe in a while because I wasn’t really making anything worth writing about. But then I came across this recipe on Pinterest and I had to blog about it because it was something new for me and it came out really well.

Anytime I go grocery shopping, I get one or two ingredients that I never use or don’t use often. My goal is switch up my meals so my body doesn’t get used to the same thing every single day.

So, one day, I decided to buy broccoli. I’m normally not a huge broccoli fan but I thought I would give it a try. After it sat in my fridge for about a week, unused, I had to figure out what to do with it before it went bad.

My #1 source for recipes is Pinterest (follow me here!). If you don’t have Pinterest, get it!!! It’s like an encyclopedia of things you’ll actually use everyday.

Anyway, I searched for broccoli recipes and this one from FamilyFreshCooking.com popped up. It looked absolutely delicious and I needed to make it ASAP. But, I was at work at the time so I had to wait a few more hours to make it haha.

But of course, because I’m me, I had to adjust the recipe to meet my needs and I came up with this creation which was SO delicious. I can only imagine how good the original recipe would taste.

Roasted Broccoli + Chickpeas on Brown Rice Recipe

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 head of broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • Olive oil
  • Spices (I used garlic powder, salt, pepper, paprika, curry powder)
  • Cooked brown rice

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Cook your brown rice, drain the water, and add coconut oil to prevent the rice from sticking.
    1. I boil 1 cup of rice to 2-3 cups of water. Sometimes I’ll wait till 90% of the water is absorbed, drain, and be done with it or I’ll wait till it’s mostly cooked, drain the water, and put it back on the stove on low heat with a lid for another 20 minutes. It’s your preference. 🙂
  3. In a big bowl, toss the broccoli florets and the chickpeas with olive oil and spices. Add as much oil and spices as you need to get everything coated evenly.
  4. Spread the broccoli and chickpeas evenly on a baking sheet and roast for about 20-25 minutes.
  5. Serve the roasted broccoli and chickpeas over rice.
  6. Add any condiments (hummus, sriracha, balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, etc.) you like and enjoy!

Pro-Tip

When I reheat leftover rice on a stove (no microwave in my household!), I like to add some spices to give it an extra boost of flavor and color. My go-to spices for this are turmeric, black pepper, and a dash of cinnamon. The turmeric gives the rice a beautiful golden color and the cinnamon makes the whole dish smell amazing and inviting. The black pepper is only used to boost the health benefits of turmeric. You could just eat the rice by itself, to be honest! Haha.


This whole process takes about an hour, if you don’t have leftover rice already. And I guarantee that you’ll want to go back for seconds. I definitely did the first time I made this. In fact, I have one more serving left in the fridge and I’m contemplating heating it up right now. 😛 It’s either that or the shrimp taco I have leftover from dinner last night.

(Control yourself, Sophia!!!) 🙂

I truly hope you enjoy this amazing vegan dish. Try it out and let me know what you think of it!

Also, to those of you in the US, hope you’re having an amazing Memorial Day weekend.

What are you all up to for the weekend!?

2 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli + Chickpeas on Brown Rice Recipe

Leave a Reply

