A Super Simple Acai Bowl Recipe

Most people would say that I’m a bit of a health nut. I went on a vegan streak for almost two years before deciding to introduce seafood back into my diet.

In those two years, I’ve learned a lot about what’s good and what’s bad. This has totally changed my relationship with food (for the better!) and has allowed me to live a much healthier lifestyle.

And because I’m obsessed with clean eating (seriously, if I go a day or two without eating clean, I’ll crave my smoothies packed with fruits and veggies), I love trying new healthy snacks, meals, and drinks.

So, it was a given that I give an acai bowl a try.

I first tried one at this little place called Uba Tuba in Los Angeles several months ago. I’m not really sure how to classify this “restaurant” but I think it’s a Brazilian dessert place.

Anyway, I didn’t really know what to expect but I didn’t think I could really go wrong especially since I could add a mountain of fruits to my bowl. I love fruits. 😀

At first, the taste was strange and a weird mix between chocolate and berries. But I grew to love the flavor. It was like a healthy little sorbet. Since then, I’ve been trying to find a way to bring the acai bowl back to my kitchen.

A lot of the recipes I saw online called for a acai smoothie pack which I had no idea where to buy. Little did I know I just had to wander to the freezer section of Erewhon or Whole Foods. Duh, Sophia…

So, I ended up going to Erewhon in Calabasas one day and picked up the Amazon Planet Acai Smoothie Pack in Energy Blend. What I loved about this particular brand was that the ingredients were 100% natural and organic. Seriously, check them out; the Energy Blend’s only got THREE ingredients! I saw another company’s smoothie packs and they had a few unnatural ingredients in there. It wasn’t horrible but I would rather get something without any artificial ~stuff~. And this was cheaper anyway haha. 😉

It took a few failed attempts to truly grasp how to make a bowl that tastes good but I think I got it! It tastes great and I know that I’m nourishing my body with healthy ingredients.

A Super Simple Acai Bowl Recipe

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 Amazon Planet smoothie pack, thawed by running it under hot water for a minute or two
  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • 2 Tbsp almond butter
  • Coconut milk
  • 1 Tbsp cacao powder
  • Frozen fruit of your choice
  • Maple pecan granola
  • Shredded coconut

Here’s what you do:

  1. In a blender, add smoothie pack, banana, apple, almond butter, a small splash of coconut milk, cacao powder, and frozen fruit.
    1. Use as little coconut milk as possible and add more once everything is all blended and you think your smoothie bowl needs more. You’re going for a thicker consistency here.
  2. Blend, blend, blend till super smooth.
    1. Don’t forget to taste your mix. The smoothie pack isn’t sweet so if you have a sweet tooth like me, you’ll want to add some fruits for more flavor.
  3. Pour smoothie mixture in a bowl and top with granola and coconut shreds.

Pro-Tip: I’ve seen a lot of acai bowls topped with a bunch of fruit like bananas, berries, mangos, etc. Definitely do that! It makes it that much better. Unfortunately, I didn’t have extra fruit laying around so granola and coconut shreds it was for me. You can add as much or as little as you want. The choice is all yours. 🙂


I hope you enjoyed this acai bowl recipe! It’s definitely one of my favorite things to make but I do so sparingly because it’s about $6 – $7 for a bag of 4 smoothie packs. I gotta save it for a special occasion lol.

What’s your favorite healthy smoothie bowl recipe? Tell me in the comments below! 🙂 I’d love to try new recipes out.

One thought on “A Super Simple Acai Bowl Recipe

Leave a Reply

