HARD Summer Lovin’ + My Favorite Acts

This weekend was a good one. It was filled with good music, good friends, and good memories.

After what felt like forever, I finally got to go to a festival and dance my little heart out! Seriously, Coachella was the last festival I went to.

HARD Summer, thanks for the memories!

For those of you who don’t know me, I love going to music festivals. I love the music, I love the positive energy, and I love connecting even more with my already close friends.

It’s been almost four months since my last festival and I was long overdue for a music-filled day.

HARD Summer is normally a two day festival in Los Angeles but I decided to be a bit rational and only go Saturday. That way, I could recover on Sunday and feel pumped for the upcoming work week. Though I wish I was with my friends on Sunday, I’m glad I didn’t go. While some of my friends spent Monday recovering, I felt ready to tackle the day. Well, as much as I realistically could on a Monday.

Luckily, the group of friends I was riding with were going around noon which is when gates opened. We got to explore the venue before it got super crowded and got to do things we wouldn’t have been able to do if we went later!

One of the first things we had to do was take a picture in this photo box.

[I like to call us the HARD Summer Angels]

Once the rest of our friends got there, we all hung out at the beer garden by the main stage.

And of course, we had to do a massive group picture.

I saw a bunch of acts but I would have to say my favorites were:

  1. The Chemical Brothers
    1. They were a must-see amongst my friends and now I can see why. They were SO good. A friend of mine compared them to Daft Punk. They don’t perform often, I hear, and I’m so glad I decided to stay and see them. There was nothing mainstream about them. They kept me on my toes and it was nice hearing something other than the normal “bangers.”
  2. The Weeknd
    1. OK. How could I not put him on this list? I’ve been (lazily) following The Weeknd for several years now. I loved his voice then and I love it now. He was actually performing at Coachella but I ended up missing him which bummed me out. So you can imagine how stoked I was to find out that he was performing at HARD. His voice sounds exactly like his records except you know he’s not lip syncing. He was so fun and I definitely want to see him again.
  3. Odesza
    1. Let me start off by saying that my one regret about Odesza was not being in the crowd to listen to them. Instead, I was in the beer garden so I couldn’t fully appreciate them. BUT…they were good enough that they made it to my top 3 favorite performers. Lately, I’ve been really into more atmospheric and melodic electronic dance music so Odesza was totally up my alley. Their music makes you feel. That’s probably the best way to describe them. I missed them at Coachella, too, so I’m glad I got to see them at HARD this time. Next time, I’ll make it to the stage!

Oh, and here’s a little peak at the outfit I wore. My top was inspired by a cut up tank from Urban Outfitters. It was sold out online but instead of buying a brand new shirt, I went thrifting and DIY-ified it. I really like how it came out. πŸ™‚ I’ll also do a tutorial on how I made it, too. πŸ™‚

[Hey, photobomber!]


Have you gone to any festivals recently? What’s been your favorite? Tell me in the comments below. πŸ™‚

One thought on “HARD Summer Lovin’ + My Favorite Acts

Leave a Reply

