Silesian Dumplings with Caramelized Onions Recipe

Ever since I moved away from home almost a year and a half ago, my diet has definitely changed. I no longer eat the ethnic food I was used to eating…mostly because I don’t know how to make it and my mom did all the cooking.

If you don’t know already, I’m half Persian and half Polish. I know how to make one dish from my Persian side but I’ve never tried making anything from my Polish side (aka my mom’s side).

But one day, I was bored and decided to give making Silesian Dumplings a try. I was 100% surprised these came out so good since it was my first time making them EVER.

Silesian dumplings are called kluski śląskie (klooskee shlah-skee) in Polish and they are made with only TWO ingredients! They’re so simple to make yet so delicious. The dumplings themselves are pretty plain in flavor which means you can make the whole dish taste any way you want it!

These dumplings will always remind me of my childhood and most importantly, my mom. (They are definitely tied with pierogi as my favorite Polish dish). She would always pair this with gravy made from beef, I believe, but since I don’t eat meat anymore, I crafted a vegan version of this scrumptious dish! The end result is the same: fluffy, squishy, doughy dumplings that are soaked in your sauce/gravy of choice! It doesn’t get much better than that.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I had fun making it…and eating it! 😀

Silesian Dumplings with Caramelized Onions Recipe

Here’s what you need:

  • The dumplings
    • 8 small red potatoes, peeled and halved
    • 3/4 cup potato starch
    • Olive oil
    • Salt
  • The caramelized onions
    • 1 onion, chopped
    • Coconut oil
    • Salt/pepper
    • Sugar (optional)
    • Grape tomatoes (optional)

Here’s what you do:

  1. The dumplings
    1. Bring a big pot of water with your potatoes in them to a boil. The potatoes are ready when you can stick a fork through them with ease.
    2. Drain the pot and mash the potatoes.
    3. Add your potato starch and mix it well.
    4. Take tablespoon-sized amounts of the potato and starch mixture and roll them into a ball with your hands. Flatten them slightly and leave a finger indentation in the center. This will hold your sauce or your caramelized onions.
    5. In a new pot of boiling salted water, drop a few dumplings in at a time. I did five at a time.
    6. Dumplings will be ready when they float to the top. This takes about a minute.
    7. With a slotted spoon, take the dumplings out and place them in a bowl.
    8. Coat dumplings with olive oil to prevent sticking.
  2. The caramelized onions
    1. Heat a pan with some coconut oil until it shimmers.
    2. Add your chopped onions and set the flame on medium to low so you don’t burn and dry the onions.
      1. Add a little water if the onions start to dry.
    3. Heat onions until they become translucent and start to turn a golden brown color.
    4. Add salt and pepper to taste.
    5. Use sugar to speed up caramelizing process, if you want. It also gives the onions a nice, sweet flavor!
    6. Throw in grape tomatoes on the pan for about five minutes for an extra burst of flavor and color.
  3. To serve, pour your sauce or caramelized onions on top of your dumplings. All the goodness should settle in and around the little finger indents you made.

[Boil, taters. BOIL!]

[This is how your dumplings should look prior to boiling them again.]

[The finished result! 😀 )

 


What’s one dish you want to try out for the very first time? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Silesian Dumplings with Caramelized Onions Recipe

Leave a Reply

