Fried Tofu Curry Over Jasmine Rice Recipe

I like food with a little extra kick to it. Plain food is cool and all but to me, it gets a bit boring after a while.

Give me a dish with flavor and spices and you have my heart. This is also probably why I love Indian food so much. Spices galore!

I think my love of Indian food started back in high school when I had a friend who is Punjabi. I would go to her house often and her mom would make amazing Indian food. I couldn’t even tell you what I ate because I tried so many things but it was all delicious. My tastebuds were on a culinary adventure and they never wanted it to end.

When I think of Indian food, curry is always the first thing that comes to mind and I decided to cook it for myself. I was lurking Pinterest, on the hunt for a vegetarian curry dish, and came across this tofu curry recipe La Fuji Mama posted which was based on Jamie Oliver’s curry recipe from his book, “Jamie’s Food Revolution“. It was perfect for me: few ingredients, easy to make, and not time consuming.

I made a few modifications: added some spices, replaced butter with coconut oil, and added spiced Jasmine rice. All together, it was full of flavor, filling, and made me want seconds and thirds! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

Fried Tofu Curry Over Jasmine Rice Recipe

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 bunch scallions/green onions, chopped
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 5 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon + a little extra for the rice
  • 1 tsp. turmeric + a little extra for the rice
  • 2 cans of coconut milk
  • Coconut oil
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Salt/pepper
  • Several pinches of flour (optional)
  • Extra firm tofu cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 cups uncooked Jasmine rice
  • Water

Here’s what you do:

The Curry

  1. In a pan, drizzle a good amount of coconut oil and add scallions and curry powder.
  2. Stir until well combined and fragrant and add more coconut oil.
  3. When the oil and scallion mixture begins to bubble, add both cans of coconut milk.
  4. Bring to a boil and let it simmer on low heat for several minutes.
  5. To finish the curry, add the remaining spices, lemon juice, and cilantro.
  6. Totally optional but add as little/many (or no) pinches of flour as you need to thicken the curry to your liking.
    1. Just an FYI, the curry will thicken a little bit as it cools.

The Tofu

  1. In a pan, heat a good amount of coconut oil.
  2. Add your cubed tofu and lightly fry each side. Each side should be a golden/light brown color.

The Rice

You can read about a more detailed way of how I make my rice by checking out my Vegetarian Loobia Polo Recipe…or just read the easier version here. 😛

  1. Add 2 cups of uncooked rice into a pot filled with water.
  2. Filter out the water several times to remove any starchy-ness from the rice.
  3. Let the rice boil until it’s no longer hard to bite
    1. Check on your rice every now and then. I’ve been known to forget I’m cooking and the rice water spills over the pot and onto my stove. 😦
  4. Pour rice into a colander to drain out the water.
  5. Take your rice and put it in a pan with heated coconut oil.
  6. Lightly fry it for a few minutes.
  7. Add turmeric and cinnamon to taste.

To finish off this dish, place a scoop (or three) of rice into a bowl, ladle out one scoop of curry over it, and top it off with a few pieces of tofu.

Pro Tip: I made Silesian Dumplings today but instead of making the caramelized onions, I poured curry over them. It was an awesome combination that I totally recommend! I love that blending two cultures’ foods worked so perfectly together. 😀

Enjoy! 🙂

What’s your favorite combination of ethnic dishes? Tell me in the comments below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

