Book Review – #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

I used to be a huge reader back when I was younger. Then, over the years, I got busy with school and eventually work and found little time for reading. By the time I was a young adult, I felt like my attention span diminished so much that I didn’t think I could focus on reading an entire book. 😦

BUT…I’ve recently felt the urge to read and keep my mind active. With me having a full time job and not learning something new every day like I did in college, I feel like my brain is just chillin’ in my head not really doing much of anything. So in an effort to keep the wheels in my head constantly turning, I headed over to Barnes & Noble to pick up a book that will inspire me and keep me engaged.

#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

I’ve never heard of Sophia Amoruso, knew of the term #GIRLBOSS (but didn’t know what it meant), and sorta heard about Nasty Gal. Basically, I knew virtually nothing about this book when I went to get it. I’ve only heard that it’s a good read which it absolutely was!

#GIRLBOSS is motivational without being fluffy. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my fair share of sappy advice but sometimes, I just need someone to tell me like it is. And that’s exactly what Sophia does. She shares her story of how she went from owning an eBay store to being the CEO of a huge brand she created on her own. She offers you solid life advice and support without giving you false hope or being unrealistic. She’s led a weirdly fascinating life and she is proof that you don’t have to take the traditional route to do anything. She shows you that with determination, passion, and badassery, you too can be a #GIRLBOSS and own your craft, whatever it is.

This book really spoke to me on many levels. Currently, I feel like I’m in a weird point in my life where I’m trying to make sense of what it is I want to do. I know I have something I can contribute to the world and I feel like I’m slowly starting to figure out what that is. #GIRLBOSS is steering me in the right direction.

I’ve also grown up with the mentality that I had to go from A to B to C to get to D…like I had to have everything planned out perfectly if I wanted to live a life I’m proud of and successful at. (You can read more about that here.) But with Sophia’s book, I know that doesn’t have to be the case. It’s okay to take the road less traveled to figure out your passion.

Would I recommend this book?

Hell yeah! Sophia’s book is witty, smart-assy, and full of useful tips and success stories. It’s perfect for someone who’s trying to figure out their path but needs a kick in the pants. I would say this is ideal for someone out of college who isn’t really sure what to do next but really, it has information that could be useful for anyone. It’s an easy yet intelligent read.

Go pick up this book now and you won’t regret it!


What’s your favorite motivational book? Share it in the comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

