My 2 Week Euro Trip | Part 1: Sevilla, Spain

I can’t even begin to tell you how crazy the last few weeks have been! I recently came back from a 2 week vacation in paradise. AKA Europe. I spent four days in Spain, five days in Poland, and lost a few days due to LOTS of connecting flights. It was a crazy, tiring adventure but definitely something I’m glad I experienced. I can’t believe I hadn’t left the country in 11 years!!! After getting a glimpse of life outside of California and USA, I’m ready to go back out there for more! Getting back to my daily routine is driving me insane, actually haha.

In any case, I want to share my experiences with you and shine a little light on the parts of the world I had the opportunity to explore!

First up: SEVILLE, SPAIN

It’s hard to say exactly what I loved about Seville. The simplest answer would be: everything. But, if I HAD to narrow it down, it would come down to these three things.

  1. Food & Drinks

I’ve heard of tapas before but I never really gave it a second thought. But after trying them while in Spain, I’ve missed out BIG TIME. Luckily, I was well fed the few days I was there so I think I made up for lost time.

Tapas are basically appetizers and they’re absolutely delicious. Some of the ones I’ve had are Tortilla Camarones, Calamares, Patatas Bravas, Tortilla Espanola, and Croquetas. It’s so hard to pick a favorite but if my life depended on it, I think the Croquetas would be my top pick. I had it with shrimp inside and as soon as I tasted it, I knew that if I died then and there, I would be the happiest person alive. I WISH I took photos of them but they went in my mouth as soon as I saw them. I honestly don’t know how I didn’t balloon up the few days I was there because I ate SO much.

[The view from the Giralda Tower attached to the Seville Cathedral. Down one of these streets is that wine bar!]

As far as drinks go, I really liked their Cruzcampo beer and vino de naranja. Their beer tastes like any other light American beer but the reason I like it so much was because it was a Spanish beer and I’d never had one before. I thought it was cool I was drinking what locals drink. Now their vino de naranja, however, is in a completely different ballpark! Vino de naranja, or orange wine, is an orange infused wine. But this stuff is STRONG and they serve it to you in a shot glass! All you really need are two glasses of this. Trust me. And somehow, we always ended up at the same bar that served this wine so we had it a bunch of times. And it’s so cheap, too! Only a couple euros for a glass.

  1. Architecture

The thing I love most about traveling is seeing the different architecture and history behind a city. The U.S. is still relatively new and it lacks the old cobblestone streets, medieval cathedrals, and windy streets that I love so much about Europe. Seville has all of that and then some.

The city is so clean and has an old-world charm that I can’t resist. It has streets you can literally get lost in and not care because you will find something unexpected around any corner. Roaming those streets on a busy and a quiet night was so surreal. There didn’t seem to be any order to the mess of streets but that’s what gave Seville its charm! In LA, everything is laid out on a grid, making it easy to find your way back if you get lost. I liked that you could get lost in Seville because finding your way back would be an adventure in itself!

I’ve noticed that architecture in Seville has a big emphasis on details. Everything is ornate and extremely detailed. When I visited the Seville Cathedral, my mouth dropped. It’s amazing how people carved the most intricate designs into marble, stone, or wood without any modern technology. And hundreds of years later, it still looks perfect.

[Some of the beautiful tiles that adorn the city. This was taken at the Plaza de Espana.]

Another thing I loved about Seville was their tiles. They are either blatantly displayed in people’s homes or in historical landmarks or they’re used as little hidden accents. No matter how they were used, they added a little something extra. My favorite kind of tiles would have to be the white and blue ones that I saw everywhere. I wish I found one to take home while I was there!

[More tiles! These are from my friend’s family home.]

Funny story: I was in Spain for a wedding and packed a blue and white dress to wear. As I was looking through wedding photos, I realized I matched the tiles in Seville. Totally unplanned!

  1. People & City Life

I fell in love with the people of Seville. They are so hospitable, welcoming, and fun-natured people. And dammit, they know how to cook!

When I first arrived, I didn’t get to where I was staying until about 1am and right away, I was served food, drinks, and engaged in conversation even when they didn’t speak any English and I barely spoke Spanish and was sleep deprived. I felt like I was being welcomed into a family and I definitely left feeling that way more than ever.

[The main square in Seville.]

I also love that they like to start their nights late and they go out to a bar for food and drinks to socialize. I guess that’s the thing to do there. In LA, it’s loud bars and nightclubs where people go to socialize. I really loved the laid-back vibe of Seville, even when we were out on a busy Friday night. Everyone was with their friends and having a good time being in each other’s company.

Oh, I should also point out that literally every single person in Seville is gorgeous. I’ve never been surrounded by so many pretty people in my entire life. I guess Spanish men are my calling. ;D


I feel so lucky to have experienced this beautiful city. I wish I could have stayed there longer as opposed to just four days. But, since I know people there, I’m more inclined to come back and visit! ;D

Welp, this concludes part 1 of my trip. My next post will be all about Poland and what I did there!

Where’s the best place you’ve ever visited? Tell me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

