DIY Mousepad

A year and a half after starting my job, I finally decided it was time to start adding color to my office. I’m a bit late but…better late than never. Right…???

Either way,  it was time to add a little personality into my very beige/neutral office. And since not having a mousepad was my biggest problem, I figured, “Why not start there?”

Luckily, I had an old tank top with a really pretty pattern I wanted to repurpose so this DIY was definitely meant to be.

Keep on reading if you wanna make your own DIY mousepad!

DIY Mousepad

Here’s what you need:

  • Cork sheets
  • Fabric
  • Scissors/X-acto knife
  • Mod Podge
  • Brush
  • Glue gun

Here’s what you do:

  1. Cut out a big enough shape for your mouse.
    1. I freehanded a square but you can make any shape you want!
  2. Mod Podge the entire surface of your cut cork board and place your fabric over it.
    1. Make sure you have a little extra fabric on all sides to glue to the other side of the cork board/the bottom of your mousepad.
  3. Cut a straight line from the corner of your fabric to the corner of your mousepad. If you’re making a square, do this for every corner. This is so you can glue down your fabric to the back without too many awkward bumps or much fabric to cut.
  4. Glue down your fabric to the back of your mousepad.
  5. Cut any excess fabric that peeks from underneath.

Pro Tip: I would add some little rubber stickers to the bottom of your mousepad so it doesn’t slip around while you’re using it. 🙂

And you’re done! Now you have a cute and very inexpensive mousepad to brighten up your work area. It definitely makes me happy seeing those pretty colors every day!


What are some of your favorite work-related DIYs? Tell me in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

